Monat

For I know the plans…

Let me start by saying that I haven’t been out of bed before 645 a.m. in a long time! This morning, something was different. Something or “someone” was pushing me. Nudging me. Telling me to get up and get going. My mind was filled with excitement and ideas and feelings of endless opportunity. And, the eagerness to share.

sharing-is-caring

Most everyday, I share with others in one way to another. When you have four kids, you’re always sharing something. Words of wisdom. Instruction. Your food and drink (unless it’s a glass of wine or beer…). Encouragement. Love and hugs and kisses! I also share of myself when I’m with others at work. I guess I have been blessed with the ability to talk and hopefully connect with others. To build relationships. At least that’s what I attempt to do. I love to learn about others. What makes them tick. What is different, or the same, about their lives and mine. There’s always something to learn or to share in this life we have been given.

Well, almost three months ago, I decided to start a new adventure. It is really a new way to share and experience personal growth. I had never really been a huge participant in sharing via Facebook. I thought it wasn’t really my style. Then, I decided to give it a shot. And, I have been loving the opportunity to be in touch with people and stay up on the things that are important to them. And, yes, to even start sharing a little more about my life. There’s a lot happening here in and outside of the Smith house!

Having four kids kind of takes over your life for a time. I have loved most every minute of it even though there are some really tough times! The arguing, fighting and temper tantrums, endless whining, constant messes and all that yucky stuff is wiped out by one little girl saying, “oh snaps”,  one curly haired boy giving a hug out of the blue, another voice saying, “I love you mom” or those one-on-one moments when my 10-year-old blows me away with his perspective and ability to share his emotions. I’m not sure if I really contemplated the reality of having FOUR babies. Some days, I look around and think to myself, “are all of these cute kids really mine? I had four kids?” Crazy! Yes, this is my life and yes, I am blessed to be their mother. I hope I’m doing it well. And, yes, I still want a life outside of that.

And so, it brings me to this. The new business opportunity. I decided to become an entrepreneur in the direct sales industry! I can hardly believe that I am typing this right now. Really…I have always been the one to RUN from any type of party or event that had to do with direct sales. Our family decision was to have kind of a blanket policy that I just don’t go to these types of things. That way I didn’t have to feel bad about saying “no”. Now, I’m doing it?!? It’s odd to say the least. I can still hardly believe it!

trust-in-the-lord-300x300

The opportunity was not what I had intended for my life. Actually, it just kept coming back to me. I would squash it and try to move on. And, it would pop back into my mind, unexpectedly. I felt that nudge, like I did this morning. Something or “someone” pushing me. Telling me… “you need to do this!” And so I did. And so I am. This opportunity is pushing me to do some things that I haven’t done in a long time. Like read and work on personal growth and development. Like step outside of my comfort zone and “safety net”. It’s scary but fun! Exciting but challenging!

This morning, I felt that nudge, pushing me out of bed before 6 a.m. Telling me to get busy sharing. To put myself out there and share my story. In some ways, it’s therapeutic to write or to talk. I don’t know if anyone will even take the time to read this. Part of me doesn’t really care if anyone does. The other part of me totally cares and is fearful…

Jeremiah 29-11 Subway Art

Jeremiah 29:11 is a verse that Judd and I put into our Marriage Mission Statement when we took the Saving Your Marriage Before It Starts class at Messiah Lutheran 14 or 15 years ago. Our framed mission hangs on the wall of the bedroom, by the door. We can see it there as we come and go. The ideas that we put together when we decided to become One. We have had our ups and downs, as every couple does. There have been times when it has been easy and time when it has been the hardest thing I’ve ever done in life. I think it’s just the way it is supposed to be. When things are hard, we have to dig deep. We have to look inside and go to The One who knows us and has a plan for us when sometimes we don’t have a clue what that plan may be. The things that happen in life are not always what we thought would happen or would want to happen. And, some times, we find ourselves wondering, “How could you let this happen?”

Let me just end by saying, everything is part of a plan and everything is just the way it was meant to be. Open your mind to see the lesson, the opportunity, the path you’re supposed to take. It is in that place, where your mind is open, that you will find growth, answers and guidance. I listened to that nudge a few months ago and again this morning. I have had this sticky note written, waiting for me to take action. And,  here I am on a path that I NEVER expected to be on. And, I’m taking it all in!! Trying to see things from a new and different perspective, and I am enjoying every step of the way (even the challenges and bumps in the road)!  Maybe there’s something like this happening in your life or maybe you haven’t discovered it yet. Open your mind, read the bible, dig deep and listen. Then, find or create your path and most importantly… enjoy the journey!

enjoy the journey

 

 

 

 

1 thought on “For I know the plans…”

Leave a Reply

